Race News

Five champion's jerseys for TEAM LAMPRE-MERIDA


Five champion's jerseys for TEAM LAMPRE-MERIDA

Last weekend the national road racing championships were held in a large number of countries. TEAM LAMPRE-MERIDA had no less than 16 of its athletes competing, and they won no less than five national champion’s jerseys - the highest number of all teams. On another note the team has officially announced the list of riders to compete at this year’s Tour de France.

Before the national championships TEAM LAMPRE-MERIDA had been competing at two stage races. At the Tour de Suisse Kristijan Durasek kept himself in the overall’s top10 for quite a while after his surprising stage win on the second day. He only dropped back to 15th in the conclusive, long time trial. Davide Cimolai gave another example of his strength by finishing in 3rd in one of the sprint finishes. At the four-stage Tour de Slovénie the result were pleasing as well: Diego Ulissi finished the opening time trial in 3rd and the Queen’s stage in 6th, Max Richeze sprinted to 2nd in the final stage and Manuele Mori crossed the finish line in 4th at the end of the second stage.

At the national road racing championships, no less than 16 riders of TEAM LAMPRE-MERIDA were competing in various countries last weekend. The riders in blue, fuchsia and MERIDA green managed to win both the time trial and the road race in two countries. Tgabu Grmay successfully defended both champion’s jerseys in Ethiopia, and Nelson Oliveira also managed to prolong his title as Portuguese national time trial champion. The road race in Portugal was won by Rui Costa who kept his opponents in control in the demanding finale in Braga to claim the title as national champion. Meanwhile Luka Pibernik followed up on the strong performances he had shown in Japan and at the Tour de Suisse, winning his first elite-category champion title in Slovenia.

The dominating topic this week however is the Tour de France that is about to get started next Saturday in the Dutch city of Utrecht. Apart from the classic mountain stages in both the Pyrenees and the Alps, this year’s edition will feature one stage each on cobblestones and in the Ardennes and a team time trial. TEAM LAMPRE-MERIDA fields Rui Costa as its undisputed captain and rider for the overall. He will be relying on a strong team with riders such as Rafael Valls, Ruben Plaza, Nelson Oliveira, Kristijan Durasek, José Serpa and Matteo Bono. With Davide Cimolai and Filippo Pozzato the team also has two fast sprinters in its ranks that are always contenders for a stage win.